Skip to product information
1 of 2

Olivia Chaney - Circus of Desire

Olivia Chaney - Circus of Desire

Regular price £22.00
Regular price Sale price £22.00



Circus of Desire is the much anticipated third studio album from Grammy-nominated folk singer-songwriter Olivia Chaney. Worked up over five eventful years, this collection of lovingly wrought songs was recorded in NYC with long-time collaborator, producer and musician Thomas Bartlett (David Byrne, the Magnetic Fields, Sufjan Stevens, The National, St. Vincent, Father John Misty)

Consisting of ten originals and one cover (a revoicing of Dory Previn’s haunting ballad ‘Lady with the Braid’), this album is Olivia set free. Taking their departure from real life experiences, these songs strain towards the universal. The title track blends the carnivalesque and meditations on ancient wisdom with an anthemic, dancy refrain. ‘Calliope’ is a tribute to Olivia’s daughter, named after the Greek muse of music and epic poetry, picturing this little life as part of the ever-revolving cosmos. ‘To the Lighthouse’ tells the story of her sister who left the capital to live on a remote island. Like ‘Mirror, Mirror’ and ‘Why’, a pair of tracks about erotic love, this song reflects upon our capacity to flee and transcend inherited trauma. ‘Zero Sum’ is a setting of a metaphysical number poem by Olivia’s grandfather, a mathematician and poet. ‘I Wish’ - the album closer, is the ultimate breakup song.


1. Art Of Losing
2. Circus Of Desire
3. Why
4. To The Lighthouse
5. Galop
6. Zero Sum
7. Bogeyman
8. Lady with the Braid
9. Mirror, Mirror
10. Calliope
11. I Wish

Release date:
Artist: Olivia Chaney
Title: Circus of Desire
Label: Olivia Chaney
Format:12" Vinyl
Genre: Folk

View full details