Skip to product information
1 of 2

Nathan Haines - Notes

Nathan Haines - Notes

Regular price £30.00
Regular price Sale price £30.00

Renowned New Zealand musician Nathan Haines announces his eleventh studio album and first solo album since 2014. Nathan’s vibrant career has solidified his status as a leading figure in contemporary jazz and electronic music, and throughout his career he has distinguished himself as a masterful saxophonist, flautist, and composer, celebrated for his innovative fusion of jazz with elements of soul, funk, and dance music. Notes maintains the jazz sound he is famed for, whilst also seeing the artist embrace the electronic/house and disco scene.

A labour of love, work on the album started several years ago alongside the now deceased UK producer Phil Asher who had produced Nathan’s two most successful albums Sound Travels and Squire For Hire. Regarded as one of the finest DJ’s and producers to emerge from the UK, playing a pivotal role in bridging the gap between 4/4 and broken beat, this was the first time Nathan and Phil had worked together in over eighteen years. Phil passed away during the recording of the album, but he appears on a number of tracks, and his spirit and influence can be felt throughout the entire release.

The album features a number of guest vocalists, including UK soul-diva Vanessa Freeman (Bugz In The Attic, 4 Hero, Kaidi Tatham, Kyoto Jazz Massive), and exciting young talent Ajuna Oakes, Ruby Cesan, La Coco and EO (NZ). Alongside Nathan’s own musicianship, the album also features bass from Razor-N-Tape label founder Jkriv and electronic jazz pioneer Mark de Clive-Lowe, with both bringing a wealth of collaboration and musicality to the project. Long time collaborator and much respected UK based producer Marc Mac (one half the highly influential and respected duo 4Hero) provides beats for a number alongside Nathan’s father Kevin on acoustic bass.

The past years have seen Haines continuing to establish himself as one of NZ's best DJs and live performers, working on releases and remixes with the likes of Chaos in the CBD, Frank Booker, JKriv, Ray Mang and many others. He has also just released a solo album on Goldie's Metalheadz label under his Sci-clone alias co-produced with DJ A-Sides to excellent reviews and featuring a wealth of talent and musicianship.


  1. Love You More
  2. Night Moves (feat. Ruby Cesan)
  3. Just Holdin' On (feat. Eo)
  4. Journey To The Peak
  5. Brother Of Mine (feat. Vanessa Freeman)
  6. Sleek
  7. Come Into The Light (feat. La Coco)
  8. Storm (feat. Rachel Clark)
  9. Don't Think (feat. Eo)
  10. Running Man
  11. Give Thanks (feat. Arjuna Oakes & Mark de Clive-Lowe)
  12. Belo Dia (feat. Rachel Clark)
  13. Notes

Release date:
Artist: Nathan Haines
Title: Notes
Label: EMK
Format:12" Vinyl
Genre: Jazz

View full details